Douglas County Sheriff's Office


This appointment is for the first time applicants for Concealed Handgun License. You will need to provide: a completed application, proof of citizenship, proof of residency, and a certificate demonstrating competency with a handgun. At the appointment you will be fingerprinted and photographed.

This appointment type is for those who need to renew their existing or expired, Concealed Handgun License issued from Douglas County, Oregon. If your card is expired you will NOT have to retake a course to prove competency with a firearm, just schedule a renewal appointment. You will need to provide: a completed application, proof of residency and your current CHL card if applicable. You will be photographed at the time of the appointment.

This type of appointment is for those who are transferring from another county to Douglas County. You will need to provide: a completed application form, proof of citizenship, proof of residency and your previous county CHL card (to provide competency with a handgun).  There is an option to transfer without renewing or transfer and renew, be sure to choose the correct application for you. You will be fingerprinted and photographed at the time of this appointment.

This appointment type is for those who have moved within Douglas County, have changed their name or have lost their CHL card. You will need to provide proof of the change at the time of the appointment. If your card was stolen, you will need to file a report with law enforcement.

General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.

In Oregon, the Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for issuing Concealed Handgun Licenses. Due to the detailed nature involved with conducting these background checks, processing time can take up to 45 days. During the application process, the applicant will be asked to schedule an appointment for a New or Transfer Concealed Handgun License application. 

Please read the requirements section below to make sure you have all the information required for applying for a Concealed Handgun License.



Type of Permit Fee

New Concealed Handgun License

Renew Concealed Handgun License $75.00
Transferring from Another County (Not needing to renew) $30.00
Transferring from Another County and needing to renew $90.00
Requesting a Duplicate Concealed Handgun License $15.00
Change of Address (within Douglas County) or Change of Name $15.00


  • If you are applying for a NEW, RENEW or TRANSFER license, you will be required to book a fingerprinting and/or photograph appointment. 
  • Applications are processed within forty-five (45) days upon being received by the Sheriff's Office.
  • Concealed Handgun Licenses are valid for four (4) years.


Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.


Please note that this website is optimized for Edge, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

Concealed Handgun License Information

Concealed Handgun License Requirements: must meet ALL requirements


Requirements for Applying for a Concealed Handgun License:

NEW Concealed Handgun License - If you cannot upload any required documents to the application, you MUST bring them to your appointment

  • Handgun safety class certificate: If you did not attach the certificate to your online application, we want to see the original certificate (if it was mailed or given at the class) OR a printed version (if an online course was taken and certificate downloaded); or other documentation of competency in handgun safety as outlined in ORS 166.291(1) (a to f). You must satisfy this requirement BEFORE your appointment.
  • Proof of residency in Douglas County: by providing ONE of the following: current driver’s license, previous year’s state tax return, real property ownership in Douglas County, voter’s memorandum card, or current rent/lease agreement. A state ID card does NOT meet the requirements.
  • Second piece of ID: You must provide two pieces of current identification, one of which must bear a photograph. Your second form of ID may include your proof of citizenship or a valid ID issued from the state department of motor vehicles.
  • Proof of Citizenship must be provided by one of the following: Certified copy of Record of Live Birth, US Passport or passport card, original certificate of Naturalization, original certificate of citizenship, Certification of Birth Abroad or Consular Report of Birth Abroad. If you are not a citizen of the United State of American, you must provide 1) Documentation of at least six months of residency in our county and 2) declare to the US Citizenship and Immigration Service your intent to acquire citizenship status in writing (form N-300 or N-400)

RENEWAL Concealed Handgun License:

  • One government issued photo identification (e.g., DMV issued driver license or ID card, US Passport, etc.).
  • Your current/expired CHL.
  • Proof of US citizenship using a birth certificate, US passport, or naturalization documents.

TRANSFERRING from another county:

  • Proof of residency: In Douglas County by providing ONE of the following: current driver’s license, previous year’s state tax return, real property ownership in Douglas County, voter’s registration card, or current rent/lease agreement. A state ID card does NOT meet the requirements. 
  • Previous County’s CHL:  This applies only if you still have the permit. This is not required. 
  • Payment: Fee for Transfer/Renewal is $65. A Transfer only is $30. We accept Visa or MasterCard debit or credit, Apple Pay, exact cash, check, or money order made payable to Douglas County. 


  • One government issued photo identification (e.g., DMV issued driver license or ID card, US Passport, etc.).
  • Pursuant to ORS 166.295(C)(2), your address must be updated with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles BEFORE submitting your application
  • Court certified true copy of your legal name change if applicable

Required Documents


  • Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state;
  • Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;
  • Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency;
  • Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers;
  • Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
  • Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
  • Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association.



For More Information, Contact:

Douglas County Sheriff's Office


1036 SE Douglas Ave
Justice Building Rm 210
Roseburg, Oregon 97470

Phone: 541-957-2021




For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software